

Southeastern Colorado Water Conservancy District Board of Directors Meeting

Executive Committee Appointment Action Report

Date: June 16, 2022 Agenda Item: V.A.

STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:

To approve President Long's recommendation of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee will consist of eight members (the officers of the Board and the chairperson of each standing committee). The Executive Director shall be a nonvoting member ex officio.

BUDGET IMPLICATIONS:

None

PREVIOUS BOARD ACTION AND/OR ACTIVITY:

The President of the Board recommends to the Board members an Executive Committee. Per the bylaws, the Board members are required to approve the Executive Committee appointments.

ISSUE SUMMARY DESCRIPTION:

Pursuant to the District's bylaws, "An Executive Committee consisting of eight members of the Board, including the President (in office) may be appointed by the Board of Directors annually at the first meeting of the Board held after the appointment of directors by the court. The Executive Directors of said Board shall be a nonvoting member ex officio (only in sessions not dealing with personnel matters relating to the Executive Director). It shall have all the powers of the Board in the interim between Board meetings. The actions of the Executive Committee shall be subject to the approval of the whole Board. Meetings may be held at any time, and at any place within the State of Colorado, upon call by any Committee member. Notice of any meeting shall be given to each member in person, or by telephone, or it may be mailed electronically, mailed or telegraphed to him or her at his or her residence or business address at least 24 hours before the meeting. Public notice shall be provided consistent with applicable statutes. Three members shall constitute a quorum. The Secretary shall keep record of the

Executive Committee Appointment June 16, 2022

minutes of each Executive Committee meeting in a book kept for the purposes and shall report same to the Board of Directors at its next meeting."

Current members of the Executive Committee are:

- Bill Long, President
- Curtis Mitchell, Vice President
- Seth Clayton, Secretary
- Ann Nichols, Treasurer
- Alan Hamel
- Kevin Karney
- Tom Goodwin
- Jim Broderick, Executive Director (nonvoting member ex officio)

SUGGESTED MOTION:

I move to approve President Long's recommendation and appoint the following to the Executive Committee:

- Bill Long, President
- Curtis Mitchell, Vice President
- Seth Clayton, Secretary
- Ann Nichols, Treasurer
- Alan Hamel
- Kevin Karney
- Tom Goodwin
- Andy Colosimo
- Jim Broderick, Executive Director (nonvoting member ex officio)

ATTACHMENTS:

None