SECWCD March 8, 2024 1

### SOUTHEASTERN COLORADO WATER CONSERVANCY SPECIAL DISTRICT BOARD MEETING MINUTES March 8, 2024

A special meeting of the Board of Directors of the Southeastern Colorado Water Conservancy District (District) was held on Friday, March 8, 2024 @ 9:00 a.m., at the District office, 31717 United Avenue, Pueblo, Colorado. The ZOOM platform was also made available.

President Long asked Mrs. Rivas for a roll call of those on ZOOM.

### **DIRECTORS PRESENT:**

Alan Hamel	Dallas May	Matt Heimerich (remote)
Andy Colosimo (remote)	Greg Felt (remote)	Pat Edelmann (remote)
Ann Nichols (remote)	Howard "Bub" Miller(remote)	Patrick Garcia
Bill Long	Kevin Karney (remote)	Seth Clayton
Curtis Mitchell	Mark Pifher (remote)	Tom Goodwin (remote)

## DIRECTOR(S) ABSENT AND EXCUSED:

None

President Long established that a Quorum was present.

#### DISTRICT OFFICIALS:

Jim Broderick (remote), General Counsel Lee Miller; Staff Attorney Peter Levish (remote); Senior Policy and Issues Manager Chris Woodka; Director of Finance and Administration Leann Noga; Administrative Support Specialist Patty Rivas(remote); and Finance Manager Stephanie Shipley (remote).

#### VISITORS PRESENT:

Pat Noga, Mrs. Noga's Husband.

#### ACTION ITEMS:

APPOINT AN EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Mr. Lee Miller presented to the Board an action item that advised the requirements of the Colorado Open Meetings Law, Part 4, Article 6 of Title 24, C.R.S. and the Public Records Act, Article 72 of Title 24, C.R.S., governing the procedure for hiring an Executive Director have been met.

## **RECORD OF PROCEEDING**

Previously, the Board voted unanimously at a special Board meeting on Wednesday, February 21, 2024, to accept the recommendation made by the Human Resources Committee on February 15, 2024, to name Leann Noga as the sole finalist after interviews with candidates for the position were conducted.

The process for searching for a Chief Executive level position is different from that of other District employees and requires compliance with certain requirements of the Colorado Open Meetings Law, Part 4, Article 6 of Title 24, C.R.S. and the Public Records Act, Article 72 of Title 24, C.R.S.

- 1. A search committee (Human Resources Committee) may be established to conduct the CEO search, but the search committee is still subject to certain transparency requirements.
- 2. Fourteen (14) days prior to appointing, employing, or offering the position to a finalist, the list of all finalists must be made public. The state or local body shall name one or more candidates as finalists for the position of CEO.
- 3. The Board must select the top candidate and make an offer of employment in the open session of a public meeting, not in an executive session.

At a Special Board Meeting held on February 21, 2024, the Board of Directors selected Leann Noga as the sole finalist for the position of Executive Director. Immediately following the Board meeting, notice of the Board's action was posted consistent with the District's posting resolution.

Alan Hamel, Chairman of the Human Resources Committee read the motion and moved, seconded by Mr. Goodwin, that the Board of Directors appoint Leann Noga as Executive Director effective March 11, 2024. Motion passed unanimously.

President Long, on behalf of the Board of Directors, congratulated Mrs. Noga as the new Executive Director of the Southeastern Colorado Water Conservancy District.

President Long gave appreciation to Mr. Broderick for his 22 years of service as Executive Director, for his persistent efforts and accomplishments in water. Mr. Broderick's efforts not only served the District's needs, but throughout the State of Colorado.

The Board was given an opportunity to give their congratulations to Mrs. Noga.

President Long asked if there were any other matters to come before the Board. Hearing no other matters, Mr. Long adjourned the Special District Board Meeting at 9:13 a.m.

SECWCD March 8, 2024 3

## **RECORD OF PROCEEDING**

Respectfully submitted,

# Patty Rivas Administrative Support Specialist

Bill Long – President

**Curtis Mitchell – Vice President** 

Ann Nichols – Treasurer

Alan Hamel

Andy Colosimo

Dallas May

**Greg Felt** 

Seth Clayton – Secretary

Howard "Bub" Miller

Kevin Karney

Mark Pifher

Matt Heimerich

Pat Edelmann

Patrick Garcia

Tom Goodwin